An Extended Absence

I can’t believe it’s almost been a month since I’ve updated. I’ve maintained this blog fairly consistently for years. I haven’t even watched a scary movie in weeks. I really miss that.
What’s happened is life. I’m in mortuary school and class started. It’s online but it eats up quite a bit of time. My unemployment is close to running out so I’m desperately trying to find any job that will take me. I had some crazy flu thing that knocked me out for a good week. And I’m hurriedly making artwork for Walker Stalker Con 2014.
Here’s some of the stuff I’ve made, so you see my time hasn’t been entirely wasted.
My first piece is based on Soviet propaganda posters. I got the idea for it because of the signs leading to Terminus at the end of season four. I wondered what it would look like if Woodbury advertised.
SafetyWoodbury1

Closeup on the Governor.

Closeup on the Governor.


Detail of the zombies to the Governor's left.  All of these are based on zombies that appeared in "The Walking Dead."

Detail of the zombies to the Governor’s left. All of these are based on zombies that appeared in “The Walking Dead.”


Detail on the zombies to the right of the Governor.  All but one of these zombies is from "The Walking Dead."

Detail on the zombies to the right of the Governor. All but one of these zombies is from “The Walking Dead.”


My second piece shows my love for The Silence of the Lambs. It’s a collage with a portrait of Jame Gumb based on his appearance in the movie. The details I chose for the background were more influenced by what you learn about him in the book. It’s mixed media on a 2″ cradled gesso-board so it’s quite heavy. It incorporates real butterfly wings.
BuffaloBill1
BuffaloBill2
Closeup on Jame's face.

Closeup on Jame’s face.


Upper left side detail.

Upper left side detail.


Lower left side detail.

Lower left side detail.


Upper right side detail.

Upper right side detail.


Lower right side detail.

Lower right side detail.


The next pieces I’m working on are drawings, which are always easier for me to produce. I’m feeling better so here’s hoping I can get back to my regular schedule because I miss movies and I miss my readers.

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in art, things involving me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Extended Absence

  1. Fear Street says:

    I miss your updates, but it’s cool to see your art–very awesome :)

    • scarina says:

      Thanks!
      I miss updating too. My life is just like a whirlpool right now and worrying about unemployment is the central issue. I can’t wait to get back to a more regular schedule.

  2. crazycanuck says:

    Mortuary school? Maybe you should rename the site Morticia..err no wait that’s been done. Anyways, good to see a posting here, good luck with the job hunt. I like the Jame Gumb, pretty cool.

    • scarina says:

      I know, I can call myself Lily Monster…oh, wait, that’s been done. damn!
      Thanks! Funny you should comment tonight, I just finished writing about my latest movie.
      Thanks again! I loved painting him and I’m glad I found a use for those butterfly wings.

Leave a Reply

