Hannibal–Amuse-Bouche

“Amuse-Bouche” has Will hunting for a serial killer that buries his victims and turns them into fertilizer for fungus. I agree with the criticism that I’ve read that there are too many serial killers on the show. If I recall correctly, at any given time there are twenty to forty serial killers operating in America. It seems like Will is looking for all of them at once. That being said, it reminds me of season one of Buffy the Vampire Slayer when it was a Monster of the Week show until the very end when it was all “Oh, hey the Master is here.” You have to establish your principals first and you can’t assume everyone will read the books. Look at the dorks that were shocked by what happened at the end of the season. Kindly take your fangirl slash pairings back to Sherlock, Hannibal isn’t going to marry Will.

It's amazing how healthy and normal Will (Hugh Dancy) looks at the beginning of the season.

It’s amazing how healthy and normal Will (Hugh Dancy) looks at the beginning of the season.


Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) with his stag statue behind him in his office.  I like to look for the stag.

Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) with his stag statue behind him in his office. I like to look for the stag.


Eldon Stammets' (Aidan Devine) fungus garden.

Eldon Stammets’ (Aidan Devine) fungus garden.


Freddie Lounds (Lara Jean Chorostecki)

Freddie Lounds (Lara Jean Chorostecki)


In my last post, I mentioned Jack Crawford and race. I was surprised again with casting choices as Dr. Alan Bloom became Dr. Alana Bloom (Caroline Dhavernas) and Freddy Lounds became Freddie Lounds (Lara Jean Chorostecki.) I really didn’t see that coming, maybe it’s because 2/3s of the Freddy Lounds I’ve seen portrayed have been played by men. Plus, there’s the rat-faced sleaziness of the character that I associate with the book.
freddylounds
phillipfreddy
Both actresses make it work. I actually like Freddie Lounds as a woman. Women can get away with stuff that men can’t and no one ever suspects us.
Come for the serial killers, stay for the food.

Come for the serial killers, stay for the food.


Fans have been recreating the food from the show. It helps that Janice Poon, the show’s food designer, has her own blog. Honestly, when I watch, I try to match what I eat with the show’s theme. So I’m very much looking forward to season two’s Japanese theme.

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in 21st century, pictures, television and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

