Halloween II (1981)

When you think about it, 1978 through 1982 were psychotically good years for John Carpenter. 1978 saw the release of Halloween, The Fog came out in 1980, Halloween II and Escape from New York came out in 1981, and The Thing came out in 1982. All outstanding movies. Four out of five of these feature Jamie Lee Curtis, you do the math. I just really miss the days before my mind associated her with digestive yogurt.
Four years ago, I admitted that I’d never seen Halloween. Now I’m finally catching up with Halloween II for Slashermastine’s Day. It’s really rare that a sequel outshines the original. Off the top of my head, I can think of The Empire Strikes Back. As much as I love the original Halloween, I think I like Halloween II just a touch more.
The movie picks up exactly where the original left off.
laurie
Dr. Loomis (Donald Pleasence) shoots Michael Myers (Seen in the credits as “The Shape” and played by Dick Warlock this time) six times. Myers then falls off of a second story balcony, yet still manages to walk away. Laurie Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis) is sent to the hospital for her injuries and Dr. Loomis tries to track Myers down.
drloomis
That’s basically the entire movie. Laurie doesn’t want to be medicated because she knows Michael Myers is still out there. She’s basically forcibly medicated and left in the creepiest, most empty hospital ever. Loomis is desperate to catch Michael, who resumes his killing spree minutes after escaping.
The old standards of the original movie are back. There are shots from the monster’s POV aplenty, but there are also lots of shots from Laurie’s point-of-view, especially in the hospital.
hospitalpov
Laurie is still resourceful, smart, and likable.
The music is as good and as creepy as ever. I hear the opening notes to the Halloween theme and it creates instant tension.
There are a few new points in this movie. First, we get more information, especially about Michael Myers and Laurie Strode. Dr. Loomis finds the word “Samhain” scrawled on a blackboard.
samhain
Technically, Samhain is a Gaelic harvest festival that occurs before the darkness of winter. Loomis attributes Samhain to a Gaelic god and death via wicker man. I guess this will eventually be tied in with the cult of Thorn in Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers.
More importantly, we learn through flashback and from nurse Marion Chambers (Nancy Stephens) that Laurie Strode was born after Michael Myers was incarcerated, that she survived him killing her parents, and she was adopted by the Strode family.
The pacing in the movie is different, I think it follows a more standard slasher template. There’s also more gore and nudity in this movie. Apparently, the director, Rick Rosenthal wanted the sequel to be more like the original but John Carpenter decided to make it more like a mainstream slasher. These additions aren’t necessarily bad. I felt more engaged with Halloween II than I did with the original, frankly. I found myself taking notes more and it felt more tense.
What I particularly like about these movies is the irrationality of Michael Myers. You can understand the origins of Jason Voorhees or Freddy Kreuger but Michael Myers just IS bad. Always has been, always will be. He’s looming and implacable. Like death, you can’t stop Michael Myers, you can just put off your appointment for a bit (Unless you–SPOILER ALERT–blow him up.) In that sense, he reminds me of the vengeful ghosts in Japanese horror. Sadako and the Saeki family can’t be appeased, so, in a way, Michael Myers is like an Onryō.
You know what I think is unfair? This movie has a 29% “rotten” rating on rottentomatoes.com. In what universe is Halloween II bad? If you combined Halloween and Halloween II into one very long movie, it would still make sense and be good. Try doing this with Revenge of the Sith and Star Wars: A New Hope and your eyes will bleed.
This just reinforces how much mainstream movie critics don’t get genre and make no effort to even understand genre.
Past Slashermas Offerings
Dark Night of the Scarecrow
A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)
Sleepaway Camp
Tenebrae
Opera
Who can Kill a Child?
Psycho
The Texas Chain Saw Massacre
Bloody Mary (2006)

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in 1980's, famous movie monsters, slasher, slashermas 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Halloween II (1981)

  1. willq3452 says:

    Your opinion is correct. Halloween II is crazy stupid underrated, and more people should like it.

  2. Pingback: Prom Night (1980) | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

  3. Pingback: Cut (2000) | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

  4. crazycanuck says:

    Holy Hanna Barbera! You like H2 better than the original; time to turn in your William Shatner mask! Might have to stop reading the site…naw just joking, too much fun reading the blog.
    Oh well, at least this is better then Zombie’s entries.

  5. crazycanuck says:

    Speaking of Zombie, just clocked his latest-Lords of Salem…rates a solid meh in my book- the
    Necronomicon that is! Seriously though this wouldn’t scare my cat; he’s still pissed at me for making him watching Pet Semetary. He’s more partial to the end of Cujo, go figure.

    • scarina says:

      I liked parts of it but I wish he had an editor that would tell him which ideas are really stupid. Parts of the movie look like they were lifted from a 7th grade satanist’s notebook.
      Don’t let your cat watch “Sleepwalkers,” that movie will freak it out.

      • crazycanuck says:

        I’d never let anybody or anything watch “Sleepwalkers,” that’s just cruel. With an original screenplay from King, I expected better. I’d rather watch “Maximum Overdrive”, dumb but fun. I can’t think of a Stephen King film I hated more than this one.

      • scarina says:

        I watch that movie whenever it’s on TBS, for some reason. I don’t know why because it’s quite awful. But a kitty shouldn’t watch Sleepwalkers anyway because, you know, cats.

  6. crazycanuck says:

    You should sue TBS, you’d probably win. Oh..wait, I forgot about “Firestarter”, that movie blew big time. I loved the novel, probably made me loath the film more than it deserves.

  7. Pingback: Halloween IV: The Return of Michael Myers | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

Leave a Reply

