Freddy 1.0

I’ve been working on some sketches of cute versions of horror icons. I chose to draw Freddy Kreuger first because Nightmare on Elm St. was the first scary movie that I ever saw.

I used Copic sketch markers over a line drawing done with Microns and Staedtler pigment liners on Aquabee Super Deluxe paper. The paper isn’t specifically made for markers but it’s fairly heavy-weight for a sketchbook–it’s 93 lbs.–and I prefer my sketching paper to have a little tooth. I like this paper because it’s so heavy that I rarely have to deal with bleeding but it’s not as textured as the cold-press paper that I prefer for watercolors and colored-pencils. And now I’m wondering how a watercolor Freddy Kreuger would work out.
You know how when you have a problem pronouncing a word or keep confusing one word with a different word? I just found out that George Takei was in an internment camp during World War Two, but, when I tell people this I keep saying “interment camp.” As a former mortuary student, I can tell you that interring someone is something very different from interning someone. Well, I’m still spelling “Freddy” as “Freddie,” even though I know that the latter is inaccurate. It’s like my brain caught a virus or something. A spelling virus. Grr.

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in art, famous movie monsters, multimedia, things involving me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Freddy 1.0

  1. LadyJ3000 says:

    That Freddy is just adorable. Love the eyes.

  2. Dave Enkosky says:

    That is just the cutest lil Freddy (Freddie) I ever did see.

  3. ReelyBored says:

    Well that’s just special! :-)

  4. LadyAlston says:

    Awesome cuteness! I’d love to see more, Jason would be adorable!

    • scarina says:

      Thank you! Jason’s definitely on the list. I’ve been working on Carrie but I can’t get her just right. Maybe I’ll do Jason tomorrow since it is…Friday the 13th. Heh heh heh.

  5. Crypticpsych says:

    It’s the little details that also make it great…for example I love the little yellow teeth!

Leave a Reply

