ITCAMEITCAMEITCAME!!!

You’re probably thinking two things right now. One is, “Calm down, spaz!” Shut up, it’s my blog, I can be a spaz if I want and my mom says I’m cool. Two is, what came? Thanks for asking!
My copy of Slashers 101 by Stacie Ponder of Final Girl fame.

Remember zines? Well, Ponder made a zine that’s a guide to slashers. The cost for the standard edition is $5 but if you splurge on the $10 sketch edition, she’ll do a sketch just for you. She probably has a lot to sketch, though, so don’t go mental and ask for the cast of The Golden Girls hanging out with the cast of Manhunter. Not gonna lie, I kind of want to draw that now. It could make sense, Will Graham was in Florida and maybe Frances Dollarhyde could go there on vacation and stalk the Golden Girls. Blanche would probably hit on him hardcore and invite him over. Ok, this has gone far enough.
I got the sketch edition. This is a cool way to support an artist at an affordable price. If you’re reading this and want a cool, cheap way to support the arts then you should buy a copy. Ten dollars is nothing in the art-world, so this is a really good bargain. Of course, choosing what I wanted sketched was a deeply difficult moral conundrum. I had it narrowed down to the Freddy Lounds’ wheelchair burning and Hannibal rescuing Clarice from the piggies. I decided on Hannibal with Clarice because I’ve pretty much already drawn the wheelchair-ening. So here’s one of my favorite romantic moments from any movie ever.

This picture is just so perfect on so many levels. I love how Hannibal looks almost jaunty, like he’s thinking, “Oh boy, oh boy, I’m touching a girl.” I love how Clarice looks like she isn’t sure if she’s having this or not. And the pig in the background looks so sad, like he’s been left alone AGAIN.
Now, the zine itself. Or comic. I’m stuck in the nineties, so anything self-published is always a zine to me, even when it’s a comic. My cover is slightly different from the picture above. The blood is a darker red and there’s no black bar. If that matters to you. The cover is a heavier stock than the rest of the zine and slightly satiny–glossy but not quite gloss, if that makes sense.
If you’re familiar with the Final Girl blog, then you’re familiar with Ponder’s drawing style and sense of humor. If you like the blog then you’ll definitely like the book. As an artist, I don’t know how she manages to make her comic stick-figures so expressive. I assume it’s some kind of unholy witchcraft. Or talent. Either one.
I can tell you that it helped explain slashers to my less horror-inclined coworkers (The only people I know in the outside world.) The book is organized into helpful sections that explain different aspects of slasher flicks, such as a brief history, the killer, the characters, the location, etc. As someone who’s seen a lot of scary movies, this was mostly familiar to me. But it was fun to read Ponder’s list o’ faves and compare which movies I’ve seen with the ones she’s seen. Plus, it’s just fun picking out which characters she draws like crazy Mrs. Voorhees talking to herself and Dr. Loomis. Even Columbo visits. I think my favorite panel is when she draws the unicorn figurine that’s used to stab Margot Kidder to death in Black Christmas, saying “But I am meant for love.” You sure are, glass unicorn.
My final verdict is that the zine is fun for seasoned viewers of slashers but can also help educate your philistine friends who think they’re too cool for horror and just want to watch Downton Abby. Use this zine to firmly hit them on the head and then read it to them. And then imagine that Maggie Smith has been the killer all along.

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in announcements, art, books, slasher and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ITCAMEITCAMEITCAME!!!

  1. Fear Street says:

    I’ve had my copy for about a week. Ponder is kick ass.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I’ll definitely have to check this out. It looks entertaining.

Leave a Reply

