Happy V.D.


I really hate Valentine’s Day. As a single woman, it just feels like this one day exists to judge you as a failure if you’re single. I’d rather be single than with someone stupid.
So I choose to treat the “holiday” with humor. Carrie White and Pinhead are in hell so why can’t they be together?
Eat lots of candy today and maybe watch a slasher. My favorite romantic moment from a horror movie is always when Hannibal Lecter and Clarice brush fingers as he’s handing her back the case file about Buffalo Bill.

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy V.D.

  1. Fear Street says:

    “I’d rather be single than with someone stupid.” YES! So would I.

    I love your Pinhead/Carrie valentine.

    • scarina says:

      Thanks! Their love burns eternally in hell.
      Never settle…except I’m kind of lonely so if the right male looked at me I would probably run behind the nearest bookshelf. Because I’m shy.

  2. Crypticpsych says:

    It’s the weirdest thing, I used to like valentine’s day…when I wasn’t single. However, it’s been years since I haven’t been single on Valentine’s Day, and I grow to hate it more and more each year. I think my problem with the holiday is that it’s an opportunity for men who normally don’t treat their wives or girlfriends as well as they should to “have a reason to” when, in actuality, they shouldn’t NEED a reason to. Plus the commercialization of it bugs the hell out of me.

    I understand the loneliness, though…myself I’ve always had a fear of rejection and never think I’m good enough for someone. Sometimes I think I have standards that are too high or that my “type” is too different than the usual “dude”. I don’t even really think I have a “type”, to be honest. I don’t care about race, body type, or anything like that…i’m most interested in personality, intelligence, a sense of humor, and at least a tolerance of the darker things in life. If a gun was pointed to my head and I was asked to pick a body part that’s important to me, it’d probably be the eyes. I’m not saying that appearance means NOTHING to me…but it’s actually pretty close to that. I feel that a person can be the most beautiful person in the world, but that doesn’t matter if I can’t relate to them or talk to them.

    Two other things, though: 1) I haven’t commented this on the other posts relating to this though I have thought it, but….you’re a really good artist. And 2) As Carrie and Hellraiser are two of my favorites, the idea of them finding each other in Hell makes an odd kind of sense to me.

    • scarina says:

      I never really thought about Valentine’s Day when I was part of a couple. But now I hate the holiday since I’m consistently single.
      I’m really socially awkward. I have a really moderate case of Asperger’s so I’m pretty awful at picking up social cues. Plus, I’m just not into what a lot of girls my age are interested in. And, I’m pretty plain. When I worked in a different part of my company, three of my guy coworkers were fighting over this one girl I was friends with and it was pretty much a nightmare. So my natural shyness conspires with a whole bunch of other things so I pretty much never date any more.
      I don’t really know you but I think you seem cool. A girl would have to be pretty stupid to reject you.
      Hee, thanks! I don’t have any formal art training so I’m super self-conscious about my art. I think they’d make a cute couple. I also thought people would rather see her kissing Pinhead than Mrs. Voorhees kissing Pinhead.

      • Crypticpsych says:

        Yeah, I think I’m getting to that point too about Valentine’s Day because I’m always single at that time of year.
        Probably part of why I’m usually single is just how different from the stereotype “guy” I am. I’m not a jock or a fighter and prefer more to debate someone or outsmart them than actually resort to violence. Most sports aren’t too important in my life (except football as I grew up in a big football family, and even that I’m not rabid about). I’m compassionate, a good listener, and like to think I’m empathetic, all of which are things guys don’t normally get described as. As such, I have a fair few female friends and I deeply value them, but no one ever seems to actually be, you know, attracted to me in any other way and I often think it’s because I’m not “that guy”.
        I’m fairly socially awkward too until you get to know me. My friends found it utterly bizarre when I told them that someone called me “neurotic” (that is a long, long, long, story I’m still recovering from a year later). One reason she felt that way, though she didn’t realize it, was because I was so nervous when we met that I was talking a mile-a-minute and made myself look like a complete fool. If I focus, I can usually conquer that, but if I don’t or I’m unsure/scared/nervous, all bets are off. A friend once said she thought I was “high-functioning autistic”…apparently some say that’s similar or the same as Asperger’s (according to google), but I’m not experienced enough to know if that’s true or not nor have I ever been diagnosed. Though I love psychology, I only learned so much en route to my Psych minor.
        Thank you for the tremendous compliment though! It really means a lot to me. And, while I as well don’t really know you, you seem pretty cool to me too. There’s nothing wrong with not being into what most girls are…some might say that makes you that much more interesting!
        And yeah…Mrs. Voorhees kissing Pinhead would be…odd. That hair and sweater combo doesn’t work as well in my head as the prom dress and the long, sleek (albeit blood-covered) hair does.

      • scarina says:

        It’s not even that I want to get gifts, I want to give someone silly gifts.
        If the traits that you’ve described are off-putting to a woman then she’s either deeply stupid or she deeply embraces traditional gender roles. I have a good amount of guy friends but they’re never into me, they’re always into my prettier friends. I try not to take it personally but it really sucks when people keep asking me if so-and-so is single. Plus, my guy friends seem to view me as one of the guys or like a little sister. Just someone who’s undateable.
        I have a really hard time talking to people until I get to know them better, then I never shut up. Making eye contact is really hard for me too, eyes and their muscles really freak me out so I really don’t make a lot of eye or even facial contact. I can’t believe someone called you neurotic for babbling, we all do it at some point. Asperger’s is really high functioning autism, and I’m very high functioning within that spectrum. I really slipped through the cracks in the school system. I had a lot of social problems, especially in relating to my peers, but I got really good grades so no one really said anything. But I have a lot of the other hallmarks of autism spectrum disorder, like I’m really sensitive to stimuli, like bright lights, noises, and crowds. I used to get really upset about them when I was little but no one really knew what to do to make me feel better. I’m more able to control my issues now, but it can be rough. I almost never do whatever people my age do (our age? We seem close, I’m going to be 29 in July.) I rarely go to concerts and I usually stick to dive bars because they’re dark and quiet. I never, ever go clubbing.
        You’re welcome. :] Ha, thanks! As awkward as I am, I don’t want to be like everyone else.
        Plus, Mrs. Voorhees was kind of old. It would be like seeing your grandma make out with Pinhead.

  3. Crypticpsych says:

    Heh, silly gifts can be fun.
    I’ve never understood that “undateable” perception that happens. If anyone would understand the feeling of being treated that way though, I would. After all, I’m usually percieved like a little brother and end up wondering why X male friend who I see these HUGE problems with…always seems to have a girlfriend (and so on).
    In school, I had friends, but never too many and always felt like I didn’t “fit in”. Over time, I’ve found I relate really well to people who are “different” but that it takes time to find those people. I don’t, however, relate well to most average people’s tastes (like I don’t understand how on earth some reality TV shows or movies are popular…it makes no sense to me). In college, for instance, my Freshman year was HELLISH. Very few people I was friends with then are people I’m still close with now, and I basically had to pull myself back out of a very dark place. However, the people I met in the later years who were more like me (a little eccentric, a little outcast) are the main ones I still talk to. I had some mild social issues too growing up…but again, like you, I just got such good grades that they never really seemed to worry about those. I was blessed with good parents, though, who’ve always been there for me, and, who knows, I might not have survived without them.
    I’m kinda similar in that I usually avoid many things most people our age do (yes, our age, I’m turning 27 in May, so close enough…lol). I never club either and am not the world’s hugest fan of the “sun” so I’m not a beach person. I maybe do one or two concerts a year that are ones I really, really want to see (like Weird Al last year, Emilie Autumn this year, Family Guy Live at Carnegie Hall a few years ago). The big events that I always find myself at are fun because they’re about the genre and about movies, but I do have a lot of problems with them too because I’m usually alone and hate crowds as well (Chiller, ironically the most crowded of the horror conventions I do, is the exception as I do have a friend who does that one with me). It’s an odd balancing act….most times I’m able to balance the crowds by focusing on the horror-y elements (yet I’m still anxious), sometimes there aren’t huge crowds, sometimes I get myself in over my head (I did New York Comic Con last year. Never again. Never. Ever. Again.).
    And, so you know, I feel the same way about my awkwardness :).

    • scarina says:

      I have no clue how it happens either. Believe me, if I could alter the behavior that causes it, I would, but I don’t even know what the behavior is.
      What you’re describing is basically me. Stop stealing my life! My family situation is definitely different, though. I’ll get into it more later. ^.^
      Ha, “the sun” made me laugh. I try to be Victorian pale, it’s just my aesthetic.
      Those sound like cool concerts. The only band I’ve ever seen is Rasputina. They’re a cello-trio, I can’t quite explain them.
      Sometimes I want to go to Comic-Con. I don’t understand how it got so big. How did being geeky become the new cool? 0.0

      • Crypticpsych says:

        I actually have heard of Rasputina though I haven’t looked up their music as much as I’ve liked to. I definitely like what little I’ve heard though. By the way, as for the concerts I’ve mentioned, I loved them all… but I will always remember the truly unique experiences of seeing “Prom Night Dumpster Baby” being peformed with a full choir accompaniment and orchestra on the Carnegie Hall Stage with an encore of “Bird is the Word” with a full orchestra. lol
        I honestly don’t know how geeky became the new cool…i think it’s the growth of computers. Knowing how to use computers well became powerful as we became more reliant on them as a society so the “IT” guys and girls became the literal “it” guys and girls, I guess. I dunno. I do kind of like, though, that horror geeks are still kind of on the edge and extreme. People will talk about how much they love Star Trek and Star Wars but “WHO WOULD WATCH SOMETHING CALLED THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE????” lol ;)

      • scarina says:

        Cool, cool, cool. They’re my favorite band, I have an alarming amount of their music on my MP3 player.
        Omg, that sounds amazing. We regularly sing those songs at my job, I’d love to see Seth Macfarlane sing them. It helps that he actually has a really good voice.
        I blame Apple. Just because.
        Ha! True, I don’t think we’ll ever be mainstream. I hope not, at least.

Leave a Reply

