Halloween T.V. Episode Roundup Part One

Ok, Halloween’s a-comin’. You know it’s close because that’s the only time anyone says a-comin’ (Well, Halloween and hurricanes, according to Sophia Petrillo.) This Halloween I’m extra poor. I would kill for a sweet box-set to review–the Halloween series would be nice if cliché or, be still my heart, the Leprechaun series. Alas, I’m too poor to buy even one of those. So, I’m really not sure if I’ll be able to do anything special for Halloween. Plus, I’ll be out-of-town on vacation for a week during the month. Thankfully, that week is when the new season of The Walking Dead starts–and I haven’t forgotten about reviewing season one either, I still have the tapes and need to fix my VCR. Anyway, to celebrate Halloween, I’ve decided to watch my favorite t.v. show episodes that revolve around Halloween. The first episode is going to be my favoritest Halloween episode ever, “Halloween” from season two of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
What I like about this episode is that it turns what you think you know about Sunnydale upside down. You would think that Halloween would be a big night on the hellmouth but, according to Buffy and Giles, Halloween is “dead for the undead.” Alas, four things are conspiring against Buffy having a peaceful Halloween.
1. Spike is watching Buffy’s fighting technique and plans to take her down as soon as possible, so him and Drusilla can have the run of the hellmouth.
They are such my favorite couple.

2. Drusilla has a vision that someone will be coming to town to change things in Sunnydale. He does come, in the form of Ethan, the proprietor of a new costume shop.
3. Buffy misses her date with Angel, who spends the evening with Cordelia.

"When it comes to dating, I'm the Slayer." That doesn't bode well for your boyfriends, Cordy.


Buffy longs to have a normal life with normal things. As a result, Willow and Buffy steal Giles’ copy of the watcher diaries to learn about the type of woman that Angel would have been interested in.

Apparently, Angel liked 'em stacked with huge bustles.


4. And, finally, Buffy finds the perfect dress at Ethan’s shop.

Yeah, Ethan’s a baddie and placed a spell on the town to turn the people into their costumes. Buffy dresses Willow up as a hottie (Even though I think Willow is awesome as she is), but Willow covers herself up with a ghost costume so she becomes an actual ghost.

Xander bought a gun from Ethan so he becomes a soldier and Buffy becomes an eighteenth-century maiden. More importantly, everyone dressed as a demon or a goblin becomes one. And the Slayer is out of commission, having no memory of her identity or powers.

Spike sees this and goes out to exploit the situation. Xander gets a chance to rescue Buffy from Larry, the (closetted gay) bully who’s been bothering them, but then Spike gets Buffy in a very creepy moment when it’s strongly implied that Spike is going to rape Buffy and then kill her.

Luckily, Giles has “persuaded” Ethan to tell him how to break the spell. I love when Giles gets tough, it’s kind of hot. *Swooooons*
Buffy gives Spike his requisite ass-kicking and everything in Sunnydale is back to normal. Oz even sees Willow in her hottie outfit and once again wonders who that girl is. I still wish they’d never broken that couple up.
Anyway, this episode is my favorite because Buffy is one of my favorite shows. It’s from season two so it’s before the show became all dark and self-righteous. And it manages to be funny and creepy. So, happy twenty-seven more days until Halloween!

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in 1990's, halloween 2011, supernatural, television, vampires and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Halloween T.V. Episode Roundup Part One

  1. ladyj3000 says:

    One of my favorite Buffy episodes. I have to disagree with your statement about Oz and Willow. As much I liked them, I loved Tara and Willow together. So for me it was a good thing they broke them up.

    • scarina says:

      I forgot that they did another Buffy Halloween episode, I have to watch that one.
      I liked both of the relationships, but Willow and Oz is my favorite. I think because I daydream about meeting a guy like Oz.

  2. FRC Ruben says:

    Dude, the Punky Brewster where they get lost in a cave and all of her friends are killed by an ancient Indian ghost — including Brandon!

    • scarina says:

      Ha! Cracked recently did a round-up of traumatic Very Special Episodes and that was on the list. The one where her friend gets trapped in an abandoned refrigerator didn’t even make the list. I, personally, liked the dog’s skeleton running around.

  3. Fear Street says:

    Why have I never watched this show?!?!

    • scarina says:

      I. Don’t. Know!
      I didn’t get into the show until it was off the air, one of my roommates sat me down and forced me to watch them. Seasons one through five are brilliant, six and seven pain me.

  4. Amiee says:

    Love Willow and Oz too, they were so cute. I’d forgotten about this episode, Willow was always my fave character.

    • scarina says:

      Willow and Oz always gave me hope because I’m a nerd and always dream that some other nerdy-cool guy would notice me. Hasn’t happened yet.
      Willow’s my favorite too, even though I kind of hate where they took her character.

  5. Pingback: Halloween T.V. Episode Roundup Part Two | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

Leave a Reply

