Journeys End in Lovers Meeting

Whoa. Last night’s movie kind of boggled my mind. In a good way, not like some of the crap I’ve watched. I watched The Haunting (1963). This movie is like the mother and father of haunted house movies. I’m still not sure if I liked it or not but I think my opinion is more favorable than it was last night.
Hill House has been home to scandal, murder, insanity, and suicide. Like the Overlook Hotel, it was born bad and as the years have passed it has accumulated more and more ghosts. The dead are not quiet in Hill House.

Dr. Markway is a paranormal investigator who wants to study the house. He selects Eleanor “Nell” Lance and Theo “just Theo” as part of his study because they’ve had paranormal experiences in the past. Luke is along for the ride because he stands to inherit the house. He acts as the skeptical voice.
Odd things start to happen once they’re in the house. I don’t want to be too specific because I don’t want to ruin it for you. I saw the remake of The Haunting from 1999. It was ok but very overwrought. In contrast, the original shows what you can do with lighting, sound, and camera angles. There’s very little actual ghostiness but the characters’ reactions ensure that you realize that what’s happening is scary.
In fact, a good portion of the movie, for me, was determining whether what was happening was actual haunting activity or symptoms of Nell’s fragile mind. That could be an explanation if it weren’t for the fact that the others experience the oddness as well.
The house itself is its own character, all twisty hallways, baroque carving, damask, statues, and silken wallpaper. In other words, it is exactly where I want to live. The exteriors are Ettington Hall, near Stratford-Upon-Avon. It’s a hotel now so you can visit it and go inside.

I guess my final word is that it’s quite a beautiful movie, it’s quite a good movie, but it wasn’t what I was expecting. I thought there would be more explicit haunting activity. Also, I suppose that I say this quite a lot, but it shows what you can do with less technology, when you require practical effects to scare people as opposed to CGI cherub statues. I still think you should watch this very unsettling movie.

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in 1960's, ghosts, supernatural and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Journeys End in Lovers Meeting

  1. Lisa says:

    Have you read the story by Shirley Jackson? It’s mostly from Nell’s POV, which makes it all the more frightening and sad. Jackson’s short stories are also good for getting seriously creeped out in under ten pages.

  2. FRC Ruben says:

    Side note:
    The Tamblyn fellow that plays Luke (also Riff is West Side Story) is the father of the new girl on House.

    Wait, House? Lemme check on second. Yup, House.

  3. Pingback: That House is Not Fit to Live in | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

  4. Pingback: Open House | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

  5. Pingback: Let’s Scare Jessica to Death | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

  6. Pingback: Crimson Peaks | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

Leave a Reply

