Happy 4th: The Dirtypillows Edition

I want you--to DIE!!!


Happy 4th, boils and ghouls!
Nature has intervened on my Stephen-King-a-Thon by blessing me with a sinus infection. Don’t worry, the show will go on, just more slowly than I wanted it to. I won’t be staying up 24 hours like I planned to so you won’t get to read my descent into crazy. But there will be movies. Onward.
I have a touch of the OCD and I like to do things in alphabetical order. In fact, I feel very uncomfortable if I don’t do things alphabetically. So the first movie I watched was Carrie.
I love this movie so much. It was one of the first scary movies I remember seeing. It’s also one of the first movies with extensive nudity that I remember seeing.
Before I watched the movie, I was thinking about how this movie couldn’t be made today in the post-Columbine generation. Neither could Heathers for that matter, which is another movie that I love.
This movie evokes high school for me so well. I was picked on a lot in high school, though not to the degree Carrie was, and that scene during gym class when people are yelling to hit the ball to Carrie because she’ll miss manages to provoke anxiety.
There’s something very unsettling about the whole movie from the creepy St. Sebastian statue to the music (When it isn’t channeling disco.)

You know you have it bad when even your teachers laugh at you. Geez, I really hate Carrie’s english teacher. There’s something so douchy about him. But this is when you meet the dreamy Tommy Ross. He seems like a nice guy, despite the fact that he’s about thrity-five and has a half-done Ogilve perm.
Remember the days when teachers could hit students? Yeah, I don’t either. But it is so satisfying when Miss Collins slaps Chris Hargenson. And speaking of Chris, she is soooo fixated on Carrie. I’ve been wondering if she might have a crush on her.
There are some parts of the movie that irk me though. I hate when it does some of the disco music throughout and I hate when they speed up the argument about the tuxedo.
Although I do love this guy. He reminds me of Kermit the Frog for some reason.

Can I take him to the prom?


Frankly, I don’t understand why they make fun of Carrie when Norma dresses like Dawn Weiner. She even wears that stupid red hat to the prom.
I love that when the blood hits the prom queen they keep the film silent. There’s something so eerie about it when you see Carrie’s reaction and the gelatinous blood is just dripping down her. Then the sound’s back and her mind has snapped. The victim becomes the victimizer but I can’t deny that there’s something satisfying when she torches the school.

Isn’t that a beautiful shot? I feel bad that Miss Collins and the nerdy guys and the girl who was nice to Carrie and Tommy Ross died. But people are such assholes, it’s kind of nice to see them scared and you can sympathize with Carrie.
And finally, Carrie goes home and confronts her mom. This is when the movie gets unsettling for me, when Mrs. White is kind of wobbling over Carrie and it looks like she’s dancing or hovering and she has that big knife. And I’ll never forget the sound her hand makes after Carrie kills her. When her hand has been stabbed to the wall and Carrie is yanking and yanking and it finally pops free.
I just love this movie so much, with all its flaws. If you haven’t seen it yet I highly recommend it.

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in 1970's, books, supernatural and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy 4th: The Dirtypillows Edition

  1. Sadako says:

    Aww, yeah, Carrie! Hope you’re enjoying your fourth, scarina.

  2. FRC Ruben says:

    Based ont eh title of the post, I was hoping for more boob stills — s’ok, I’ll just watch Carrie, pause it a bunch, and take picx w/ my cell cam.

    diiiiiiirty

  3. Pingback: Hunkered Down Post #2 | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

  4. Pingback: An Evening With Piper Laurie | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

  5. Pingback: The Slumber Party Massacre | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

  6. Pingback: Carrie (2013) | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

  7. Pingback: Prom Night (1980) | Scarina's Scary Vault of Scariness

Leave a Reply

