It!


If you’re like me and you grew up in the nineties you probably remember the release of the Stephen King miniseries It. I was only seven when it came out but in the years afterwards, if you talked to someone my age about clown-fears, Pennywise the Clown (As terrifyingly played by Tim Curry) would be mentioned.
I’m an avid reader of Stephen King and I’m currently rereading It. I’ve been thinking of the miniseries as I reread the book. I love the book when it’s about the children, I like it less when it’s about the adults. I think that King gets tripped up in his wordiness when it’s about adults and I kind of hate when he tries to describe It in its true form. A creature that takes the shape of what scares you the most, like a boggart, is scary. It can get in your miiiiind. An intergalactic space spider that can be killed by hope is less scary. Especially in the miniseries with the goofy movie effects.
I’m wondering if it’s time for a remake. Normally I back away slowly from remakes but they’re not necessarily bad things. Tom Savini’s remake of Night of the Living Dead was pretty good although, frankly, I think that Barbara in the original was more realistic. Kick-ass Barbara is more satisfying. And I actually really like Zach Snyder’s Dawn of the Dead. I love the original but the new one loses the slow-moving, ponderous quality of the original. Of course, it lost most of its anti-consumerist and anti-racist message too. But that’s a post for another day.
So is it time for a remake of It? I think it’s time to terrorize a new generation of school-children. Of course, It can never really die, It can just be put off. Let’s do it right this time.
In one of those odd coincidences that happens when you’re thinking of something, I bought a copy of the miniseries at a sale for $1. I also got Hellraiser and Mondo Cane. I wonder if it’s time for a Stephen King marathon. I already own Carrie, The Shining, and The Stand. I could probably yank a few more from Netflix. What do you think?

About scarina

I like scary movies a little too much. I thought I'd share my obsession with you.
This entry was posted in 1990's, books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It!

  1. FRC Ruben says:

    I must really take issue with your opine of Night of the Living Dead ’90 — but to each her own. Dawn remake was way good, mostly because Sarah Polley is the kind of girl that I could totally see myself shooting Reagan to impress (great now the secret srvice will be knocking down my door — IT’S A JOKE FELLAS! The man’s dead anyway)

    _It_ totes needs a remake, but can we keep Tim Curry? I wouldn’t feel comfortable with a new Pennywise. Maybe Katie Holmes. Or Dawson, while we’re on the subject. Actually, what’s Anthony Michael Hall up to these days? No. No no no. Tim Curry MUST play PW in the remake.

    • scarina says:

      I saw the new Night of the Living Dead before I saw the old one, I think that tainted my impression. I love the new Dawn, I always put it on as background when I’m cleaning or doing an art project. Ha! You want to kill Zombie Reagan.
      I can’t think of ANYONE that I would cast in the new It. My mind is a big old blank. I guess I’ll just be happy as long as they don’t cast any of the endlessly appearing children that Disney owns. How upsetting would it be if Zac Effron were Bill denbrough?

Leave a Reply

